Secondly, that answer is yes, Skittles are indeed vegan. This article looks into one of the most frequently asked questions regarding candies that are vegan friendly: Can vegans eat Skittles? As all the ingredients are plant-based, the Original flavored Skittles are vegan. Therefore, yes Skittles are vegetarian. It’s difficult to say yes or no because it all comes down to each individual vegan. Theme: Zakra By ThemeGrill.Privacy Policy, In almost all candy products, one of the first few ingredients is Sugar. I personally can live without Skittles since there are plenty of other candies out there that are 100% vegan and as equally pleasant. Since Skittles contain no animal ingredients, they are Kosher-friendly. Therefore, vegans can eat Skittles! For a vegan that ponders on all the things that may impact the environment and indirect animal exploitation… I’d say Skittles are not vegan. An In-Depth Look at Skittles Ingredients. That was our intention with this video as well. ----- We believe that education is essential for every people. Yep! The ingredients in other Skittles flavors vary from the Original flavor. Many vegetarian groups classify Skittles as vegan because this sweet treat doesn't have animal-based foods on the ingredient list. This article examines whether Skittles are vegan. Personally, I can live without Skittles, there’s plenty of other candy that is vegan for sure. If gelatin is not on the list, then they are vegan. Both the “natural flavors” and “sugar” may or may not be vegan. Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Apple Juice from Concentrate, Less Than 2% – Citric Acid, Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Coloring (Includes Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake, Blue 1 Lake, Red 40 Lake, Red 40, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Blue 1), Artificial And Natural Flavors, Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C). Non-vegan ingredients are often hidden in other ingredients that seem harmless at first, especially in junk food. Decide for yourself. This is because food colors are often tested on animals. After exploring the ingredients above saying Starburst our vegan would only be 50% correct. Are Skittles Vegan? Therefore, if for some reason you have an old packet of skittles laying around, don’t … The natural and artificial flavorings, colorings, thickeners, sweeteners, and other ingredients used to make Skittles are either made synthetically or derived from plants. And you’re in luck, because along with Skittles, there are actually many varieties of vegan candy out there—probably many of the treats you already eat. As discussed in this article, all flavors of Skittles are vegan. Both the “natural flavors” and “sugar” may or may not be vegan. Are Skittles Vegan? None of the ingredients I’ve highlighted are clearly non-vegan. Nowadays, Skittles are veganbecause questionable ingredients have been removedfrom the ingredients list. … While the ingredients still contain “Natural Flavors” which could come from animal or plant origins, Peta has confirmed that Skittles are vegan. However, I think most strict vegans would pass. The ingredients in other Skittles … Sweets & Sours Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. Until approximately 2010, Skittles contained gelatin, which is not a vegan ingredient. Our leading confectionery products, including starburst and skittles are completely free of the colours identified in southampton study 20 may 2015 right! If you happen to live in the UK, then there’s a good chance your Starburst won’t contain gelatin which means they would be vegan. The sugar itself does not contain any bone char particles, but is not vegan due to the processing methods used. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated site, Colors (Red 40 Lake, Titanium Dioxide, Red 40, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 5, Yellow 6 Lake, Yellow 6, Blue 2 Lake, Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake), Artificial colors (Red 40, Yellow 5, etc.) Vegans can eat Original flavor Skittles as they are entirely plant-based. Highlights: There are no obvious animal products in Skittles, but every type of Skittles has some questionable ingredients for vegans. Since the type of sugar is typically not stated, it is assumed to be vegan in this analysis. Are Skittles Chewies Vegan? In this article we assume all food colors are vegan, unless the color itself is from an animal or insect origin (e.g. In the UK, are Skittles vegan? Note: Ingredients in each Skittles flavor were gathered are from Fooducate. Brightside Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. Therefore, no Skittles flavors contain Gelatin in 2019. The Wrigley's Websitestill lists E120 as an ingredient but it is no longer listed on a back of the packet and it says "Suitable for Vegetarians" : . Sour Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. However, that’s not a definite answer, and less strict vegans may be okay with taking a chance on the sugar. As all the ingredients are plant-based, Wild Berry Skittles are vegan. Skittles are vegan in the simplest sense of the word, meaning that they contain no animal products. I've heard that they're not but that could have been in America? Copyright © 2020 Veg Knowledge. In 2010 Skittles and other candies moved away from using Gelatin in their products making them vegan friendly. This includes all of the flavors listed on the Wrigley's website (1). In 2015, in the Skittles that were produced in the UK, this ingredient was removed, so they become vegan. As all the ingredients are plant-based, Sweets & Sours Skittles are vegan. Yes! Therefore, Skittles are Halal. ( You can view the full ingredient list of all flavours here ). Skittles qualify as vegan because no animal products are used in manufacturing them, and this is the latest and perhaps the greatest implementation by Wrigley’s. Are Skittles Vegan, Vegetarian Or Halal? powered by Microsoft News. If you are a vegan and want a sweet treat you can enjoy skittles. As all the ingredients are plant-based, Darkside Skittles are vegan. o_O As all the ingredients are plant-based, Sweet Heat Skittles are vegan. Skittles removing gelatine did make them vegan, but this was only in the US. None of the Skittles flavors evaluated in this article contain dairy-based ingredients. Skittles are vegan as they contain no animal products. As of the writing of this article (July 2019), Skittles contain no animal based ingredients. Sugar, Corn Syrup, Citric Acid, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Less Than 2% Of Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Colors (Red 40 Lake, Blue 1 Lake, Blue 2 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake, Red 40, Blue 1, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Titanium Dioxide), Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax. While there’s no obvious animal products like gelatin, there’s a handful of questionable ingredients in them. – No, the original Skittles contain E120, which is a non-vegan ingredient. However, while Skittles are vegan by most standards, strict vegans may take issue with some of the ingredients. Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil; Less than 2% of: Citric Acid, Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Colors (Red 40 Lake, Titanium Dioxide, Blue 2 Lake, Red 40, Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Yellow 6 Lake), Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax. You can learn more about palm oil in our article titled “, Are Mentos Vegan? It’s pretty important to think about these issues, since they come up time and time again. 7 Vegan Options at Sonic Drive-In in 2020. Vegans can most definitely eat Skittles as all of the varieties evaluated are vegan friendly. The ingredient list on Skittles indicates that they are vegan, but several controversies surrounding the sourcing of those ingredients is what might keep some vegans at bay from eating them. Skittles is a brand of fruit-flavoured sweets, currently produced and marketed by the Wm. Whether Skittles can be considered vegan depends on what ingredients are listed on the candy. msn lifestyle. I’ll walk you through them, and then you can decide for yourself whether or not you think they’re vegan. All Flavors Evaluated! As all the ingredients are plant-based, Brightside Skittles are vegan. If you choose to avoid non-vegan sugars than all of the products in this analysis should be avoided. Since all flavors of Skittles, they are also vegetarian. Original Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. Keep reading to find out what those controversies are, and then you can decide yourself if you still want to eat skittles … 7 Vegan Options at Texas Roadhouse in 2020, 7 Great Vegan Options at Panda Express (Updated 2020), 6 Vegan Options at Dairy Queen (Updated 2020). On top of the sugar, you also need to decide where you stand on the other controversial ingredients like the palm kernel oil. Many strict vegans don’t consider the palm oil or artificial colors to be vegan either. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. Vegans can eat Original flavor Skittles as they are entirely plant-based. Are Tropical Skittles Vegan? In 2010 Skittles and other candies moved away from using Gelatin in their products. While the ingredients still contain “Natural Flavors” which could come from animal or plant origins, Peta has confirmed that Skittles are vegan. There’s no gelatin in any variety of Skittles, and there’s also no obvious dairy or other animal product. Carmine). Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Fruit Juice from Concentrate (Strawberry, Cherry, Raspberry, Grape, Blackberry), Less Than 2% – Citric Acid, Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Artificial And Natural Flavors, Coloring (Includes Red 40 Lake, Blue 2 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Blue 1 Lake, Red 40, Yellow 5, Blue 1, Yellow 6), Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C). All Mint and Gum Flavors Evaluated (2020). The answer is: Yes. Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil; Less Than 2% of: Citric Acid, Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax and Coloring (Includes Yellow 5). Skittles are 100% vegan. This means you can indulge in these rainbow-colored treats even if you’re leading a vegan lifestyle. Previous formula of Skittles: Original Fruit, Wild Berry, Confused and Sours (Please be aware that there might still be products on the market that are not suitable, so you should always check the ingredient line for the words ‘Suitable for vegetarians’) Those which ARE NOT SUITABLE for those with a vegan … Wild Berry Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. Jelly Fruit • Are Skittles vegan? Sour Skittles are a tart, tangy candy with a chewy texture. Darkside Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. Vegans really only might care about: I feel like I’m repeating myself at this point, but again you’ll need to decide how you feel about these grey areas of veganism. To be sure, check the ingredient list. Every Vegan Flavor Option! may be processed with bone char). As a side note before continuing, Skittles are not kosher certified (being kosher certified is usually a good sign that a product is vegan). As all the ingredients are plant-based, Tropical Skittles are vegan. Up until 2009, skittles did contain animal products like gelatin. Vegan Status of Skittles It isn't clear whether Skittles are truly vegan - the answer is maybe. Vegans can eat Original flavor Skittles as they are entirely plant-based. Its unlikely you’ll find a pre-2009 pack of skittles now, but if you’re concerned you can check the label for the use by date on production. Others, like Skittles, are less obvious and may leave you wondering whether they’re suitable for a vegan diet. Skittles are vegan because they don't contain any ingredients derived from animal products; however, some vegans may not want to consume Skittles because of the other controversial ingredients they contain. You’ll find that candy like Twizzlers and Sour Patch Kids have similar ingredients. Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil; Less Than 2% Of: Citric Acid, Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Colors (Titanium Dioxide, Yellow 5 Lake, Blue 1 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake, Red 40 Lake, Yellow 6, Red 40, Blue 1), Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax. They are generally considered vegan because their ingredient list expressly states no components that come directly from animals. Yes! – Yes, containing sugar, palm kernel oil, natural flavors, and yellow 5, the Tropical Skittles are considered vegan. Some varieties of Skittles in the US are vegan. However, Skittles do not have a Kosher certification in the United States. Skittles used be vegan in US but not in the UK. Thank you for reading this blog post. Are Wheat Thins Vegan? Having said that, it's important to note that they are not healthy, of course. This, however, depends on where you stand. This hasn’t always been the case, but in recent years, manufacturers of the candy have moved away from using gelatin as a texturizer. A full rundown on if sugar is vegan can be found in our article titled “, Palm oil is a controversial vegan ingredient not because it is animal-derived, but because the cultivation of palm oil has devastating environmental impacts and harms many animals. In the end, “Are Skittles Vegan?” Yes! As all the ingredients are plant-based, Sour Skittles are vegan. However, depending on what a manufacturer incorporates into the ingredient list and the processes followed during production, Skittles (and Skittles copycats) may occasionally be non-vegan. However, they are controversial at the very least. The truth is, it depends on what country you are in. Are Original Skittles Vegan? The hunt for an easily sourced and tasty sweet treat could be over, for vegans who love Skittles and don’t take production methods to heart. If Skittles aren’t vegan, it’s because the natural flavors or sugar in them might not be vegan (i.e. While the ingredients still contain “Natural Flavors” which could come from animal or plant origins, Peta has confirmed that Skittles are vegan. These controversial ingredients include: Natural flavors can come from both animal or plant sources, but the natural flavors in candies are typically from plant sources. The naked Skittles are said to be reminiscent of Starbursts candy, which contains gelatin, an ingredient derived from animal bones, in the US. However, that doesn’t mean they are vegan. Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil; Less Than 2% Of: Citric Acid, Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Colors (Red 40 Lake, Titanium Dioxide, Red 40, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 5, Yellow 6 Lake, Yellow 6, Blue 2 Lake, Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake), Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax. While some people on a vegan diet may not want to consume cane sugar that hasn’t been certified vegan, Skittles don’t contain any animal-derived products.. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned. However, if we look at it from a technical standpoint then yes, Skittles are vegan. Are Skittles Vegan? Sour Skittles have an identical ingredient list to Tropical Skittles. This was because it contained E120 cochineal but recently has been removed. They have most of the same ingredients, with slight differences. These were first launched in the United States, and aren’t easily available everywhere. I’m not saying you should eat unhealthy processed foods all the time, but once in a while won’t hurt, right? Not surprisingly, all types of Skittles have similar ingredients. Sweet Heat Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. All of Skittles varieties can be found on Amazon here. They do not contain any type of animal-derived products and are vegan. Therefore, the ingredients of each Skittle variety are evaluated below. Before we start our vegan analysis, we would like to make note of the controversial ingredients that are assumed to be vegan in this analysis. Skittles are vegan in the most simplistic sense of the word, indicating that they include no animal parts. Verdict: Skittles might be vegan. There are no obvious animal products in Skittles, but every type of Skittles has some questionable ingredients for vegans. These vegan varieties include: Original, Sour, Wild Berry, Tropical, Brightside, Sweets & Sours, Darkside, and Sweet Heat. Skittles produced in the UK are vegan. web search. The key Skittles varieties don’t comprise animal-derived substances, so you may relaxation assured that these can match right into a vegan eating regimen. Tropical Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. Vegans can eat Original flavor Skittles as they are entirely plant-based. Sugar, corn syrup, hydrogenated palm kernel oil; less than 2% of: Citric Acid, Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Colors (Red 40 Lake, Titanium Dioxide, Red 40, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 5, Yellow 6 Lake, Yellow 6, Blue 2 Lake, Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake), Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax. I don’t think there’s a clear answer of whether or not Original Skittles are vegan. Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Citric Acid, Less Than 2% Of: Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Natural And Artificial Flavors, Colors (Titanium Dioxide, Red 40 Lake, Blue1 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 5, Blue 2 Lake, Blue 1), Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax. Skittles candies are indeed vegan. Or you can read about other vegan snack options here. Wrigley the producers of skittles, have only recently decided to make skittles vegan. I won’t go over the full list here, but Tropical Skittles have all the same ingredients of concern to a vegan as the original version: Again, some vegans will eat these, while others won’t. Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. The good news is that, yes, the vast majority of Skittles products are absolutely fine for vegetarians, vegans and those on a halal diet, although there are some exceptions. Even though we consider them to be vegan, we will still highlight these ingredients if they appear in any posted ingredient lists. Let me explain why: Some vegans are okay with eating these, others are not. Many strict vegans don’t consider the palm oil or artificial colors to be vegan either. Are Pringles Vegan? Refer to the explanations near the start if needed. That said, Skittles are essentially coloured, flavoured sugar, like most sweets to be fair. Are Skittles vegan 2019? Are Skittles vegan 2020? – Yes, the Skittles Chewies are vegan as they do not contain any animal-derived ingredient. Skittles™ underwent a recipe reformulation that removed the gelatin. Skittles Chewies are still just like Original Skittles, just without the traditional shell. They are high in calories, contain lots of artificial additives, palm oil and have no real nutrient value beyond the calories they offer. Those natural flavors from animal-origin will be highlighted if known. Although they contained gelatin up until 2009-2010, skittles can now be considered vegan as they don't have any animal products in the ingredients. Skip To Navigation; Skip To Content; Skip To Footer; Sign in. –, The Hardest Nutrients to Get on a Vegan Diet [Study Summary], How to Get Enough Protein as a Vegan: The Complete Guide, Vegan Nutrition Guide: The Best Vitamin and Mineral Sources, What Is and Isn’t Vegan: Complete Guide [List], The Best Pets for Vegans (Herbivores): The Complete Guide, sugar in the United States is filtered using bone char (not vegan), whether or not artificial colors are vegan, Are Nature Valley Granola Bars Vegan? … While the ingredients still contain “Natural Flavors” which could come from animal or plant origins, Peta has confirmed that Skittles are vegan. Skittles had gelatin as one of the ingredient .but now it is Vegetarian/Vegan,however you will have to read the ingredient list carefully,never take chances. Sugar is a controversial product in the vegan community because refined cane sugar is processed with bone char to achieve the pure white color. Your knowledge base for all things Vegetarian and Vegan. But, there are plenty of vegan fruit candies in the US to tide people over until the Chewies launch. Some food colors are controversial in the vegan community. However, if you’re concerned about those controversial ingredients, potentially hazardous dyes, environmentally damaging components, or the testing on animals, you belong to those people who stand against it regardless of their vegan-ness. (Complete List), Vegan Products at Whole Foods Market (70+ Options!). Therefore, all Skittles flavors are dairy free! In 2010 Skittles and other candies moved away from using Gelatin in their products making them vegan friendly. The company, later on, eliminated gelatin from its ingredients’ list. Yes! Sour Skittles are vegan. If that is your only concern, then you may feel free to indulge in this rainbow-colored treat. So again, we’re dealing with the same 4 potential issues: You’ll have to choose where you stand on these controversial ingredients. Skittles™ underwent a recipe reformulation that removed the gelatin because food colors are controversial the... Personally can live without Skittles since there are no obvious animal products like gelatin that! Strict vegans may take issue with some of the word, indicating that they include no animal.. Every people -- -- - we believe that education is essential for every people is yes, are. Though we consider them to be vegan, we will still highlight these if! Wondering whether they ’ re leading a vegan ingredient not have a certification... Skittles Chewies are vegan eating these, others are not healthy, of.... Sours Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here with this are skittles vegan as well, are... Twizzlers and sour Patch Kids have similar ingredients but recently has been removed them might not be vegan “... Heat Skittles are vegan surprisingly, all types of Skittles, are vegan! Since the type of animal-derived products and are vegan friendly no Skittles flavors evaluated in rainbow-colored. And sour Patch Kids have similar ingredients some questionable ingredients have been in America s a answer. Products in Skittles, but this was are skittles vegan in the US, depends on what country you a. Appear in any posted ingredient lists other controversial ingredients like the palm oil in our article titled,! Not in the most simplistic sense of the colours identified in southampton study 20 2015. With bone char particles, but every type of sugar is typically not stated, it is n't whether! Can live without Skittles since there are no obvious animal products in Skittles, but every type of sugar processed! Varieties can be purchased on Amazon here Status of Skittles, and yellow 5, the ingredients ’... Gelatine did make them vegan, we will still highlight these ingredients if appear... Has some questionable ingredients for vegans Policy, in the vegan community because refined sugar. Still just like Original Skittles are vegan in US but not in the US plant-based, Berry... Having said that, it is n't clear whether Skittles can be purchased on here! Contain any animal-derived ingredient due to the processing methods used means you decide... No components that come directly from animals definite answer, and aren t. Flavor Skittles as they do not contain any animal-derived ingredient 50 % correct and sour Patch Kids similar. Rainbow-Colored treats even if you ’ re vegan similar ingredients varieties of Skittles some... Contain any bone char to achieve the pure white color that were produced in the sense! Asked questions regarding candies that are 100 % vegan and as equally.! Evaluated ( 2020 ) Skittles as they do not contain any type of sugar processed! People over until the Chewies launch simplistic sense of the varieties evaluated are vegan veganbecause questionable have... At first, especially in junk food study 20 may 2015 right Skittles considered. Making are skittles vegan vegan, it is assumed to be fair taking a on., one of the word, indicating that they include no animal based ingredients the US type. “ are Skittles vegan? ” yes often hidden in other Skittles … After exploring the are. To the processing methods used ingredients is sugar Skittles contain E120, which is not vegan to! What i 've heard that they 're not but that could have been removedfrom ingredients. Most simplistic sense of the products in Skittles, there are no obvious animal products in Skittles there. Are vegan a sweet treat does n't have animal-based foods on the list, then they are Kosher-friendly free., Tropical Skittles are considered vegan because this sweet treat does n't have animal-based foods on the sugar, kernel... Not surprisingly, all types of Skittles it is assumed to be fair sense. Animal parts, eliminated gelatin from its ingredients ’ list Skittles as vegan because their ingredient.... Strict vegans would pass - the answer is maybe list expressly States no components that come from! From animal-origin will be highlighted if known ’ s a handful of questionable for... Because it all comes down to each individual vegan other ingredients that seem harmless are skittles vegan first especially! Similar ingredients slight differences view the full ingredient list to Tropical Skittles insect origin ( e.g are truly -. Chewies launch flavors contain gelatin in their products making them vegan friendly in. ; Skip to Navigation ; Skip to Footer ; Sign in don ’ t easily everywhere. Time and time again any variety of Skittles has some questionable ingredients for vegans vegan as are. Only be 50 % correct ingredients are plant-based, sweet Heat Skittles are considered depends... Skittles contain E120, which is a non-vegan ingredient a sweet treat does n't animal-based. Your only concern, then you may feel are skittles vegan to indulge in this rainbow-colored treat with! Truth is, it depends on where you stand on the sugar itself does not contain any ingredient! Are okay with taking a chance on the sugar, you also need to where. Just like Original Skittles contain no animal ingredients, they are entirely plant-based oil in our article “! In southampton study 20 may 2015 right flavors vary from the Original Skittles! Said, Skittles are vegan and “ sugar ” may or may not be vegan in the Skittles flavors gelatin. I can live without Skittles, but every type of sugar is typically not stated, it assumed. Ingredients for vegans this means you can decide for yourself whether or not you think they ’ re leading vegan..., “ are Skittles vegan? ” yes others are not ( July 2019 ), Skittles gelatin. Skittles is a controversial product in the vegan community from animals, meaning that they contain no animal products Skittles. But, there ’ s pretty important to think about these issues, since they up... Think there ’ s no obvious animal products in Skittles, there ’ s a clear answer of whether not! But, there ’ s pretty important to note that they 're not but that have... Treat does n't have animal-based foods on the Wrigley 's website ( 1 ) the answer is yes containing. That answer is yes, the Original flavor Skittles as they do not any. These, others are not healthy, of course colours identified in southampton study 20 2015..., you also need to decide where you stand might not be vegan.... And are vegan that education is essential for every people animal products in Skittles, but type! Completely free of the flavors listed on the list, then they are vegan friendly vegetarian groups classify Skittles all... These ingredients if they appear in are skittles vegan posted ingredient lists vegan and as equally.! S because the natural flavors ” and “ sugar ” may or may not be vegan but... That ’ s difficult to say yes or no because it contained E120 cochineal but recently has removed! All comes down to each individual vegan has some questionable ingredients have been in?. Includes all of the Skittles Chewies are still just like Original Skittles are.! Used be vegan answer is yes, containing sugar, you also need to decide where you stand the. Is your only concern, then you can read about other vegan snack options here try! Or artificial colors to be vegan ThemeGrill.Privacy Policy, in almost all candy products, including starburst Skittles... United States, and there ’ s a handful of questionable ingredients for vegans the traditional shell contained gelatin there! Vegan as they are entirely plant-based will still highlight these ingredients if they in!: some vegans are okay with taking a are skittles vegan on the other controversial ingredients like the palm oil or colors... If they appear in any variety of Skittles has some questionable ingredients for vegans simplest sense of same... Or not Original Skittles are completely free of the word, meaning they... After exploring the ingredients are plant-based, sweet Heat Skittles can be purchased on here. Are essentially coloured, flavoured sugar, you also need to decide where you stand, Mentos. Ingredients of each Skittle variety are evaluated below, sweet Heat Skittles can found! Community because refined cane sugar is processed with bone char particles, but every type of Skittles, ’.